Bush Walking in Cairns…

I don’t even know where to start with this trip… It feels like one of those eye opening experiences that will be with me forever. Probably the only one I have ever had of this significance. And wait for it… It is purely down to the people I met!

As you know, I am a huge fan of Airbnb… So I booked another for my stay in Cairns. It was located behind the botanical gardens, and a twenty minute cycle ride into the town centre.

On arrival, I was greeted by this lovely Japanese lady; Akiko. She provided me with a matcha tea (green tea in a powder form) and healthy cupcakes! Couldn’t of been more perfect after my flight!

Akiko then showed me the botanical gardens and part of the rainforest, following the shortest walking track, this took roughly an hour. It was so lovely to be encouraged to get out straight away and explore, as if I am honest all I wanted was a nap! IMG_0779IMG_0786IMG_0791

Later that day I booked my place onto scuba diving the reef.. which only had free spaces for Thursday. On Wednesday I decided to walk the longer route within the rainforest. This took me three and a half hours.. and was absolutely fascinating. It was scary at time, as during the whole trip I passed two people… So I had hours with no sight of a human. I couldn’t stop worrying about coming across a snake… and no one would hear my scream!! I have been assured it is actually pretty unlikely I will come across a snake. IMG_0814

As you can see.. the view at the top was well worth the three hours of silence!!IMG_0818IMG_0825

 

Leave a Reply

