Whale Watching on the Gold Coast

Sorry for my lack of posts recently. I have been taking note as I do things.. Just never getting round to actually formatting the posts. It’s crazy how time flies, especially when you’re travelling!

Anyway, whilst on my trip in Surfer’s Paradise I did a few tourist attractions, which helped me build a better picture of where I was staying, and what the Gold Coast really looks like.

Firstly, I went whale watching. After being in Byron Bay and hearing so much about these famous whales.

… I saw a lot of information regarding whales when I visited the most easterly point of Australia; which is located close to Byron Bay. So figured it’s probably something I should experience. 

So I ventured out into the sea, leaving from the marina mirage in Surfer’s Paradise. I went whale watching for 3 hours… And I managed to see two whales and a group of dolphins. It cost $100; At first I thought this was too expensive… but it would of cost the same amount to visit Sea World; an attraction park where you can see and learn lots about the sea life. I figured you can watch Dolphins doing tricks in most tourist places, like Siam Park in Tenerife (somewhere we go every year).

I would say it was worth the money, this is down the fact that I did not just see whales, but.. I got to experience a huge group of dolphins swimming beside the boat whilst taking in the exceptional beauty of the Gold Coast’s coast line.


Unfortunately I didn’t manage to get a picture of the whales, as they only came up briefly and I was too fascinated at how huge they are! The structure of the boat trip was that we ventured out into the sea for probably an hour, until we got far enough out to see the whales in their natural habitat.
We struggled for a while to catch a glimpse of the whales, as once they spouted and made it clear where they were… We would head over, and they wouldn’t come up for air and then the next time they’d of moved somewhere completely different.Whales can hold their breath for up to 40 minutes (as you can imagine that would be pretty boring), but luckily the average tends to be 7 minutes, which makes it a little more exciting.
It was a fantastic experience.. Would definitely recommend!

Leave a Reply

